Curfew in the North extended till Tuesday morning

Release time:2020-03-22 Publisher:Lanka Voice

The curfew imposed for five districts in the North, namely Mannar, Vavuniya, Mullaitivu, Kilinochchi and Jaffna have been extended until 6 am on Tuesday, March 24. The curfew for these districts will be re-imposed by 2 pm on the same day. Residents of these five districts have been prohibited from travelling beyond their respective residential district. This temporary ban will be in effect until all devotees who attended the service conducted by a Swiss pastor infected with Covid-19 are identified. The President’s Media Division said the measures were taken in order to safeguard the residents of these five districts, from contracting the deadly disease. Meanwhile, the government requested citizens of the North for their cooperation in fighting against the pandemic and in ensuring their safety and wellbeing. 

Hot topicMore>>